Town Council


  • 7 p.m.
  • Held on the second and fourth Monday of the month, unless a holiday occurs, then it is usually the Tuesday following the holiday.
  • 2021 Town Council Calendar
  • Town Hall Council Chambers
  • 2200 E. Main Road
    Portsmouth, RI 02871

Special meetings and workshops are specifically scheduled. Any person wishing to speak before the council should contact the town administrator, any council member, or the Town Clerk and ask to be put on the next agenda. All meetings are open to the public. Watch video, complete with agenda tags, of some of the newer council meetings.

As a response to the Covid-19 Pandemic crisis, the Portsmouth Town Council utilized Zoom to hold their meetings in order to continue fostering citizen involvement and transparency in government.

Zoom meetings are uploaded to the "Town of Portsmouth, RI Official YouTube Account.

For Instructions on how to use Zoom

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View All Agendas and Minutes

Council Overview

Legislative powers are vested in the Town Council, which is composed of seven members who are elected at large for a term of two-years. Elections are held each November of even numbered years. Term of office begins the first Monday of the week following certification of the election results.

The Town of Portsmouth operates under a Home Rule Charter providing for a council-administrator form of government, which combines the political leadership of elected officials with the professional experience of an appointed government administrator

The Town Council also sits as the Licensing Board.

Your Town Council Members


Kevin M. Aguiar (D),
Town Council President
770 Bristol Ferry Rd
Portsmouth, RI 02871

LindaUjifusaWeb Linda L. Ujifusa  (D),
Town Council Vice President
155 Adams Dr
Portsmouth, RI 02871

DanielaAbbottWebDaniela T. Abbott (D)
52 Ladeira Ave
Portsmouth, RI 02871

MichaelBuddemeyerMichael A. Buddemeyer (D)
73 Potomac Rd
Portsmouth, RI 02871

KeithHamiltonWebKeith E Hamilton (R)
134 Soares Dr
Portsmouth, RI 02871


Andrew V. Kelly (D)
33 Pine St
Portsmouth, RI 02871


J. Mark Ryan (D)
155 Adams Dr
Portsmouth, RI 02871

To send an email to the entire Town Council at once: Email